Who we are

Michigan Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages is a state affiliate of the professional association, TESOL International. MITESOL is composed of professionals who are involved in the teaching of students for whom English is a second or additional language (ESL).

What we do

Our main mission is to provide leadership and support for professionals involved in TESOL across the state. Read more...

Become a member

There are several ways to get involved, but the best way to start is by becoming a member! Visit the membership page to find out how. And check out our Special Interest Groups (SIGs) to see what issues fellow MITESOLers are addressing.

Stay Informed!

MITESOL supports English learners across Michigan in all contexts. Check out some of the recent policy issues affecting learners.

Michigan Third Grade Reading Law

Read the MITESOL & MABE Joint Position Statement regarding this law.

Reaching English Learners Act

Read TESOL International Association's letter of support for the Reaching English Learners Act, H.R. 4838.

Michigan English Only Bill
Read the MITESOL Statement on House Bill 4053, which designates English as the official language of Michigan.

Attention Members!

TESOL 2018 Chicago

Presenting at TESOL 2018?

Share your presentation here.

Look here for a schedule of all

MITESOL presentations.

MITESOL Reception

The MITESOL Board welcomes you to join our MITESOL reception at TESOL 2018!

Look here for more info and HERE to RSVP.


Interested in presenting in Poland in September? Need help paying for it?

Click here for details!

#IamMITESOL Latest Feature

Barbara Gottschalk is an English language acquisition teacher at Susick Elementary in Warren Consolidated Schools, a public school district in metro Detroit. She has taught in Japan as well as in five states in three very different parts of the country. At Susick, she has written and implemented many grants to fund field trips, assemblies, service learning projects, and arts in education residencies. This has helped all of Susick’s ELLs, both economically disadvantaged and non-economically disadvantaged students, improve at a rate over 10% points higher than the state average. Her book, Get Money for Your Classroom: Easy Grant Writing Ideas that Work, will be published by Routledge in November, 2017.


Follow us on social media:

We often share reminders about upcoming events and articles related to the TESOL field on our Facebook and Twitter accounts. Click the icons below to check out our social media pages.

If you're looking for a Facebook group for one of our Special Interest Groups (SIGs), click here to see which SIGs have a group.

Upcoming Events

2017 Conference Highlights

The theme of our 2017 conference was  "Promoting Equity and Excellence.Many TESOL professionals shared knowledge through presentations and networking opportunities over the course of the conference. Keynote speakers included Dr. Mary Schleppegrell and Dr. Holly Hansen-Thomas. Thank you everyone for your participation!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software